GameScom - The World's Biggest Yearly Gaming Event!

by Dave Brown
07/02/2020
We cover the Gamescom Gaming Event

You have reached the page about Gamescom - The World’s Biggest Yearly Gaming Event! 

This Video Game Event is the largest gaming event on the planet, held yearly in Cologne, Germany. In 2020 the event will take place between the 25th-29th of August and tickets are already open for sale!

About 350,000 participants attend each year and for 2020 they have 5,273 exhibitors from 155 countries already signed up to present their latest developments.

The trade show is a must for everyone within the PC Game Industry and includes mind-blowing releases from Nintendo, Sony, Xbox or Square Enix, to name just a few. Passionate gamers and the media alike jump on the opportunity to glimpse at the best games that will be released on the market, and gamblers are also invited to take a look at the alternatives in the industry. Gamescom has traditionally not been of high priority for those focusing exclusively on casino games but with the current trend of developing skill-based casino games inspired from the world of video gaming, also developers of online casino slots find their way to Gamescom.  

Time To Get Ready for Gamescom 2020 

If you are already obsessed with FIFA19, Fortnite, Watch Dogs and other titles in the industry, you can expect to learn all about the latest development at Gamescom! 

Tickets are open for sale and the schedule is becoming more detailed for each day as we get closer but here are some highlights;

  • Opening Night Live will air from 0400 AEST / 0330 ACST / 0200 AWST / 0600 NZST on the morning of Tuesday, August 25th.

  • Geoff Keighley will run a live show on the 25th of August. 

  • FIFA19 Friendly Match between Cihan and GamerBrother, 26th of August.

Looking Back - Gamescom 2019 

Gamescom does not usually run that extra mile in terms of announcements. However, last year they did. Geoff Keighley, the creator of the Game Awards, changed his mind and decided to host a pre-show announcement live-streamed. The event was called Opening Night Live and the audience got some cool announcements and fresh content from Google Stadia, Epic Games and other giants in the field. The live show also had lots of world premieres and exclusive news, and was a great opportunity for everyone within the industry, not at least journalists, to get some heads up with news directly from the source. 

Another exciting thing to mention from 2019 was the live appearance by Hideo Kojima as they introduced their exclusive new look at Death Stranding. 

Moreover, Microsoft Xbox Games Studios made an appearance during the Opening Night Live, and fans got some juicy details on Gears 5, Halo Infinite or Sea of Thieves.

The Opening Night Live event was streamed on Twitch on August 19 at 7pm BST / 11am PT / 2pm ET / 8 pm CEST or August 20 at 4am AEST.

Major Participants at Gamescom 2019

1. Microsoft Xbox - more than 200 booths

Microsoft Xbox went all in for the 2019 edition of this huge gaming event. The giant had close to 200 booths displayed on the show floor for all guests and participants to have a chance to come across their products. They introduced the audience to their Gear 5's Horde Mode, as well as Mineral Dungeons, while loyal Xbox fans had the honor of testing Project xCloud for the first time.

Inside Xbox hosted a very special episode live straight from the Gloria Theatre in Cologne, live on August 19 at 5pm CEST / 4pm BSt / 8am PT / 11am ET or August 20 at 1am AEST.

They also hosted the Open Doors at the Gloria Theatre from August 21 to August 23. 

Xbox Open Doors entries were free and participants got to be part of their community events, engage in awesome game tournaments and attend panel sessions where they got answers to their most burning questions.

2. Sony, First Public Appearance Of The Year At Gamescom 2019

The gaming giant attended the Gamescom for the first time in 2019 and made its first public appearance of the year. What was expected of them? Geoff Keighley had hinted that Sony would display new content or at least make a huge announcement but no one knew if the announcement was related to the Death Stranding footage - which it was! Visitors to the event were all eager to see if there were any updates on Ghost of Tsushima and The Last of Us: Part 2. Some of the most passionate fans of the Japanese brand got more details on the PS5 console that was announced earlier that year.

3. Nintendo At The Biggest Gaming Event Of The Year

Well, while Gamescom 2019 ran on the 20th and the 24th of August 2019, Nintendo had other plans. Namely, their online activity that occurred between the 20th and the 22nd of August. Fans could go online and watch extended gameplay videos part of the Switch lineup. Think in terms of Dragon quest 10 S: Echoes of an Elusive Age, Luigi's Mansion 3, The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening or Mario and Sonoc at the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

As for people that were able to attend the event, Nintendo had prepared a floor booth with their favorite titles, including Pokemon Sword and Shield or the Witches 3 port, along with the previously mentioned titles available online.

There was also great interest in Nintendo’s one-off Super Smash Bros Ultimate that was broadcasted on the official Nintendo YouTube channel. Players had a chance to go head to head in a confrontation that could send them to Japan for the Ultimate World Challenge Cup. 

How to Get Tickets to Gamescom 2020 

We are still a few months from Gamescom 2020 and we cannot wait to see what industry news and releases will be coming our way in the following months. 

Tickets can be already found on the Gamescom website, so if you are eager to find out what are the hottest new titles in the world of gaming firsthand, you should hurry up to bookmark this site and get ready for the next event!

Top Bonuses
Casino of the Month

Weekly Online Casino Offers,
right to your inbox

Don't be the last to know about latest bonuses,
new casino launches or exclusive promotions. Join us today!

By subscribing you agree to our terms and privacy policy.
We hate spam too - unsubscribe any time!
Copyright © 2020, Gamblers Bet | Encyclopedia